hero img

Hey I'm Anna.
I’m from Portland, Oregon and spent my Global Citizen Year in the Andean town of Otavalo, Ecuador. Now I’m studying Journalism and Design at the The New School in New York City. Here’s a look at my life in Otavalo.


Teach English

After breakfast at home, I walk ten minutes to the school, where I start work at 8 o’clock. The school is a Montessori School of Integrated Education for children with disabilities. I teach English to two classes, and spend the rest of the time assisting with the youngest group of kids.


Time for recess

From the school’s playground, there’s a great view of the volcano Imbabura. After snack and recess, I help monitor teeth-brushing with the kiddos!


Lunch with my family

My mom makes lunch every day which we all eat together, usually while watching telenovelas or Nickelodeon. My home is far from the rural environment I used to picture when I thought of Ecuador. I live in a house in Otavalo, a ten minute walk to my favorite cafe. When my friend and fellow Fellow Bennett and I have free time, we’ll often meet up at cafes to practice Spanish, journal and hang out.


Fair trade jewelry apprenticeship

In the afternoons, I work with a group of artisans that make jewelry. Most days I help organize supplies, make presentations, or work on photography projects. Other days, I help make jewelry with the women and we all drink tea and chat in Spanish.


Hang at the cafe

After work I often come to a cafe in Plaza de los Ponchos to write letters and plan my Final Community Project.


Dinner & family time

From my roof you can see the mountains that surround Otavalo: Imbabura, Cotacachi, and Mojanda. I spend most evenings watching TV with my sister while my mom makes dinner. Quiet evenings with my sisters, or hanging out with my family, are often my favorite parts of the days here.