An Average Day

Noah Montemarano - India


December 14, 2017

To give you a more accurate picture of my time in Pune, I’ve posted my general Monday- Thursday schedule.

Since my last post was sort of depressing, hopefully this will give some context that TFI is not my entire life. 🙂


THE MORNING

6:15 AM: Wake up to my phone alarm clock. Dress in khakis and a kurta / button down shirt. Drink a glass of warm milk with my 11 year old host brother. Pack my breakfast – usually Chapati and jam 🙂 – and a small vegetarian lunch.

6:45 AM: Walk towards an empty fruit stand across the road. Wait for the PCMC bus.

7:00 – 7:25 AM: Stand in a bus with local villagers and high school students.  Listen to my podcast or music playlist

7:30 – 8:00 AM: Switch buses at Chinchwad crossing.

8:00 AM: Leave the bus. Walk five minutes past local shops towards my school.

8:05 AM: Say hello to the maid at the school’s doorway. Walk up the stairs towards the teachers’ room on the second floor. Refill my water bottle and eat my chapati jam breakfast.

SCHOOL DAY

8:10 AM – 12:20 PM: Teach or assist classes. During free periods, I’ll lesson plan or read in the teachers’ room.   

12:20-1:00 PM: Attend the teachers’ meeting, during which I eat my chapati and subzi lunch.

AFTERNOON: AFTER-SCHOOL CENTER

1:00 PM: Travel to a one-room after school center on the second floor of a nearby building.

1:00-2:00 PM: Meet with several TFI fellows. Welcome students as the Center.

2:00-4:00 PM: Help students from surrounding schools with Model UN or review study sessions.

4:00 – 5:00 PM: Ride the bus directly towards Hinejwari crossing.

5:00 – 5:30 PM: Walk 3 kilometers from Hinjewari crossing.

5:30 PM – 6:30 PM : Lesson plan, write, or otherwise relax in the apartment. .

AFTERNOON 2: NO AFTER-SCHOOL CENTER

1:00 PM: On days when I can skip the Center, I’ll either bus straight home or book a cab to the northern part of Pune to meet a friend.

NIGHT TIME

6:30-7:30 PM: Play soccer on an old tennis court with my host brother and his friends.

7:30 – 8:00 PM: Take a bath (bucket shower.)

8:00 PM: Have dinner with my host mother and siblings.

8:30 PM: Watch a youtube video with my host siblings. They especially love movie trailers 🙂

9:00 PM: Message friends and family. Write in my journal. Read.

———————

Weekends: The weekends are much more relaxed. I attend a two hour Hindi class on Fridays and Saturdays. On Sundays, I attend church. Otherwise the schedule varies.

Noah Montemarano